Forgiveness Without a Priest?

I’m still studying the Church’s teachings on confession and forgiveness, but there’s an area that’s a little fuzzy to me.

I understand the basis for confession. I understand how priests receive the authority to forgive. But I’m not clear if the Church teaches that you must receive forgiveness from a priest.

If someone commits a sin and immediately asks God for forgiveness, do they get it? Or is that sin unforgiven until a priest forgives the person?

Thank you

You can be forgiven for a sin by praying to God and asking forgiveness. However, the way you KNOW you have been forgiven is when the Priests says the words of absolution. In this manner, God gives us a way to know for sure, with no doubt, that we have been forgiven.

Confession also gives a means to make reparation for our sin via the penance that is assigned by the Priest.

Coming from a Protestant background, I never understood that. But the more I learn about Catholicism and thought about it, the more I agree that there are excellent psychological benefits.

Confession also gives a means to make reparation for our sin via the penance that is assigned by the Priest.

My penance question: do Catholics believe that penance is required for forgiveness or does it have more to do with the temporal punishments of sin? Kind of the same thing indulgences address?

Thank you

First there are two types of sins:

Venial Sins - Venial sins are slight sins. They do not break our friendship with God, although they injure it. They involve disobedience of the law of God in slight (venial) matters. If we gossip and destroy a person’s reputation it would be a mortal sin. However, normally gossip is about trivial matters and only venially sinful.