Forgot to abstain from meat for Ash Wednesday

This is my first time practicing Ash Wednesday. I was so excite for lent. I was all ready to fast for the day. I ate my one full meal in the morning, and was preparing to limit myself to two smaller meals for the rest of the day. Then, I remembered that was are also supposed to abstain from meat on Ash Wednesday. My full meal had meat in it. I became very disappointed after realizing what I had done.

What should I do? I was thinking of eating no more for the rest of day as penance to make up for eating meat. But am I being too scrupulous. Since I did not intend to fail to abstain from meat, should I just forget it and move on? Should I do something else? I could use some advice. Thanks.

You should continue fasting and not eating meat because those are the prescribed actions. Abstaining from meat for the rest of the day wouldn’t be much of an additional penance, since it’s already prescribed anyway. It’s up to you if you want to offer it up that way, or do something else, additionally. There’s no prescribed rule that you have to do an additional penance, but it might be nice, and in the spirit of Lent, if you think of one.

You could abstain for the rest of the day when you have your two smaller meals.

Perhaps you should mention it at your next confession? From what you’ve said, it doesn’t sound like you have committed a mortal sin.

Shame on you!

Now do you feel better? I said shame on you?

Just pick up where you left off and try better next time. We only have two days a year to fast and go without meat.

It happens even to those of us who are veterans. I have forgotten on fridays. the no meat thing.

Someone else will have more to add. You may want to offer it up at confession to see if it is a problem. I think it is more a discipline and not a sin. You had it all planned out, your heart was right, but next time you will remember.

peace.