Foster care and single

Hello everyone! This is the first time I have posted here, although I have been reading the forums for a while now.

I am a 34 year old single woman who is in the process of getting licensed to provide foster care. I work full-time as a teacher. I spend a lot of time with children as I have nieces and nephews (that are grown) and most of my friends have young children. I am excited about this and nervous.

I would prefer to be married and have children of my own and provide foster care. But I am also tired of waiting for a man to change my life. I have not had any luck in the dating world and haven’t even had a serious boyfriend in many years.

Does anyone have any advice for me?

We do foster care and also have our own tribe, so I don’t know how much this will help, but-be sure to utilize any support groups available in your area. Those sponsored by your agency are great for networking for respite purposes, even if only for Doctor appts.
If you have specific ?s, don’t be afriad to ask. I foster primarily newborn-5 year olds, but our kids go from 2-28yr (the 2yr old is a recent adoptee) - so I have lots of experience as we are a blended family that went thru lots of therapy when we 1st came together.

Maybe this is an odd question, but have you discovered that God is calling you to be a foster parent? Are you becoming a foster parent to realize your personal ministry?

Or are you doing this because you’re single and childless?

Maybe the way that you will approach foster parenting depends on why you decided to foster parent in the first place.