Foster Care

Good evening! I will try to keep this brief but also want to give you enough information to understand me.

For many years I have felt drawn to foster care. It seemed in the future though, you know when I am married, when I have my own kids, etc… Well that hasn’t happened yet. I decided to go through the process and got my license to provide foster care 2 years ago. I rarely got calls. I said yes a couple of times when called but they had already found someone else and then others I wasn’t comfortable with. They have made many changes to the foster care system in the past couple of years, making it much more difficult for me to do. Some examples are now you have to be open to a wide age range, like newborn to 10. Another is you have to be willing to take siblings. Oh and now everyone is considered emergency care so I could get a call at 2:00a.m., miss a day at work and then have the child go with a family member that same day. I am a teacher so I can’t miss much work. I was up for renewal in March and was feeling very overwhelmed by all these changes and my case worker recommended I close for now.
I regretted closing my account and decided recently to reopen. Now I have to fill out a ton of paperwork again and have another home inspection. Basically I have to do everything I did initially except take the classes. I am starting to have 2nd thoughts. I know I would provide a great home for a child in need. I just don’t know if I can handle the other stuff. I am frustrated with myself. I feel like I am failing if I don’t follow through. Really I am just asking for your prayers that I may be able to make a decision and stick with it.