Franciscans and movies

Can Franciscans go the the movie theater and watch Netflix? I can’t find anything on the web that helps me with my question

I’m no expert on Franciscan lifestyle, but from the little I know, I would say they are “allowed” but not encouraged. From what I understand, Franciscans are devoted to extreme poverty, penance and prayer as a means of not only living a lifestyle liberating from sin and other activities that draw them away from God (ex. Escapism which can encompass media such as movies and Netflix), but also as a means of atoning for the sins of others. But part of enbracing poverty is allowing for more opportunities for others to be moved to charity. In that sense, if a man had a friend who was a Franciscan and invited him out to the movies, the Franciscan would likely accept as a means of providing some kind of moral gratification for that man giving his up his time and money for the sake of another (obviously exempting if the movie/Netflix…thing contains obscene content). Being that Franciscans typically embrace a level of poverty where they don’t even own the clothes on their backs, I’d imagine they dont watch movies/Netflix often, but if a person offered it to them as an act of brotherly charity, I’d imagine they’d accept. Again, I’m no expert, but thats my input based on a minimal understanding of Franciscan lifestyle.

1 Like

There’s too many kinds of Franciscans to generalize about this question.

Reminds me of this old joke:

• No one knows what a Jesuit is about to say,
  • No one knows what a Dominican just said, and …
  • No one knows how many kinds of Franciscans there are!

Blessed be all the incorporeal, bodiless powers,
Deacon Christopher

7 Likes

I’ve been to the movies with Franciscan sisters. I know of at least some Franciscan priests who really enjoy movies. Netflix is popular in a lot of communities–an inexpensive and communal form of entertainment.