Freelance work for another Religion?

Hello all,

I am devout Catholic and have been presented with a moral conundrum.

I’m a freelance videographer and web designer and was approached by a friend who is working on a project for a Christian (but non-Catholic) Church. I was wondering what would be the appropriate response to a job offer like this?

In my head, it’s a weird mix of needing the income and supporting the overall Christian faith vs. participating in helping promote non-Catholic ideas (among other things).

I’ve seen posts about there being a difference between doing your job versus publicly supporting something morally wrong (such as the flowers with a same-sex couple example) but don’t understand how this might apply (if at all?) to a difference in doctrine and a ecumenical context.

Thanks!

Enjoy the project! You’ll be fine.

Peace and all good!

I run into the same issues myself. One way I’ve thought about it is I will get some of their money and be able to redirect it to what I think is right and good. But there is a line. If an organization was promoting something seriously wrong, like same-sex marriage, I would turn it down. It gets trickier if they are promoting it but it constitutes a smaller percentage of the product.

One thing to keep in mind is that many people are working for employers who promote grave evils. Corporations these days promote same-sex marriage. Should people of faith not work for or use the services of these companies? It as at a point in the US today where plenty of faithful people are cooperating with this evil. Are you held to a different standard because you freelance versus people who have a sole employer? The moral determination may change based on whether you only freelance for your income or if it is for extra money.