Friend and male lover

Hi all!

I am lost as to what to do about my friend. She has friends-with-benefits thing going on with a guy who is in RCIA (I know because she told me):blush:. She wants me to listen to her when she wants to discuss the guy to me, and so forth. I have told her that I don’t want to talk about the friend-with-benefits because giving advice about him violates my Catholic moral convictions i.e. I don’t want to be seen as approving of the relationship.

(I am no saint and I have a sex past but with God’s help I have cleaned up my act in that area.)

My friend told me that I am being judgmental about the male lover and that “if you are so holy and Catholic then you shouldn’t judge because Jesus didn’t judge people.”

It angers me that the male lover is in RCIA and carrying on like this… probably because I am an RCIA instructor.

Fellow Christians, what do you advise me to do?

I’d tell her each and every time she tries to bring up their sex life that pre-marital sex is a mortal sin, you aren’t being judgmental by pointing out the teachings of the Church and are doing so in the spirit of fraternal correction because you care, and ask that she either stop having pre-marital sex and become chaste like you did or at least not talk about the subject with you. You might also add that caring about another human being means caring about their soul and by continuing to have pre-marital sex she is endangering her own soul and the soul of her lover.

Good luck! I truly hope your friend comes round.

Teach them the truth with love.

CCC

Offenses against chastity

2351 Lust is disordered desire for or inordinate enjoyment of sexual pleasure. Sexual pleasure is morally disordered when sought for itself, isolated from its procreative and unitive purposes.