From active JW to devout Catholic - How did such a thing happen?? :-)

Hi all,

I’m kind of new to the Catholic Answers Forums, and with the encouragement of Carole Marie, I’m posting my story here. I’m hoping that it might spur some discussion among people who have had similarly powerful conversion experiences as adults. I’ll look forward to chatting with you all and sharing our stories and faith.

God bless,
JP Augustine

Here’s my story:

I was a JW for 20 years or so, from the time I was 8 until the time I was 28. I, too, was a “devout” JW. I became a ministerial servant at the age of 20 and gave a number of public talks in my congregation as well as at several others. Being a JW was my LIFE, as you can certainly relate to.

I left the JWs after my marriage fell apart and I began some psychotherapy to deal with my marriage. The elders were clearly out of their depth and weren’t particularly helpful, so out of desperation I sought some outside help. Fortunately, my therapist quickly sized up my situation and offered the suggestion of taking a little “sabbatical” from going to meetings for a month or two to focus on myself and my relationship. It took very little time away from meetings for me to realize the degree to which I’d been a victim of some very serious mind control on the part of the WTS. Needless to say, within about 4 or 5 months, I stopped going to meetings and never went back.

This upset my parents and family greatly. Of course, all my friends (and like all good JWs, I didn’t have ANY friends who weren’t JWs) went away, and things with my parents have been very distant since then as well. (They don’t know about my conversion to Catholicism yet. I expect when they do, it’s only going to make things worse. It’s tough being an apostate )