From St. Justin Martyr's Transmutation, to St. Thomas Aquinas' Transubstantiation

This is my first time posting a question, so, I hope I am doing this correctly!

My question stems from St. Justin Martyr's great description of the Early Church's Mass- in his letter to the Roman emperor, he uses the theological term 'transmutation' when discussing the Eucharist. As an RCIA candidate, I am well aware of the meaning and theological significance of the term Aquinas used to describe the change from bread and wine into the Body, Blood, Soul, and Divinity of Christ- Transubstantiation. Could anyone provide me with a brief explanation of any differences between the two terms? (I fully understand that it is merely a shift in vocabulary over the centuries, and that it doesn't change the reality of the Sacred Mysteries.)

This one has puzzled two deacons and a monk!

Thank you for your time and help!

[quote="RCIAcollegeKID, post:1, topic:307658"]
This is my first time posting a question, so, I hope I am doing this correctly!

My question stems from St. Justin Martyr's great description of the Early Church's Mass- in his letter to the Roman emperor, he uses the theological term 'transmutation' when discussing the Eucharist. As an RCIA candidate, I am well aware of the meaning and theological significance of the term Aquinas used to describe the change from bread and wine into the Body, Blood, Soul, and Divinity of Christ- Transubstantiation. Could anyone provide me with a brief explanation of any differences between the two terms? (I fully understand that it is merely a shift in vocabulary over the centuries, and that it doesn't change the reality of the Sacred Mysteries.)

This one has puzzled two deacons and a monk!

Thank you for your time and help!

[/quote]

Trent says you better believe one of these or you are anathemized, the other you can freely not believe. That is the difference.