Frustrating discussion with a protestant friend of mine

So today I was at school (I'm in first year at University) and I had a discussion which touched on some important issues :

1 - My friend started to allege that although God is Trinity, there was a time pre-genesis that God fused into 1 being as the father alone and that the "separation" of persons happened later... I pointed out to him that God has always been trinity as the scripture says God is the same yesterday, today and forever. He still kept pushing his ideology despite this

2- I touched on the bible and how protestants had vandalised the holy text by removing 7 books from the bible. He acknowledged that, that was wrong but then immediately contradicted this by saying he will only believe in the 66 book bible because he doesn't know the 7 other books :banghead:

3- He claims he doesn't trust the Church and believes in the bible alone. I told him that the Church gave him the bible so he should trust the Church that gave him the bible. He refused and started throwing cheap shots and straw man statements like saying the Pope is a child molester, Catholics worship statues etc. :mad:

Please give me any advice on how to approach any of these issues? One thing I do know is that I need to be patient... Also please say prayers for the both of us and for ,more importantly, the reunification of the Church

Church swap with Mormons

[quote="Wandile, post:1, topic:298874"]

2- I touched on the bible and how protestants had vandalised the holy text by removing 7 books from the bible. He acknowledged that, that was wrong but then immediately contradicted this by saying he will only believe in the 66 book bible because he doesn't know the 7 other books :banghead:

3- He claims he doesn't trust the Church and believes in the bible alone. I told him that the Church gave him the bible so he should trust the Church that gave him the bible.

[/quote]

I'm sorry, but that's an inaccurate statement.