Gender-neutral

I have a problem.

I am an English teacher, and certain idiosyncracies of “politically correct” grammar bug the snot out of me. I actually heard someone say this recently:

God loved us enough to send God’s Son to us.

You don’t have to be a grammar nerd like me to know that this is poor English syntax! We have pronouns for a reason!:mad:

My question is this: granted that this is nitpicking, but doesn’t this “gender-neutral” thing a) divert attention from the idea of “God the Father”, and b) really just kind of bother your ear?

Peace,
Dante

PS: I’m sorry if this is the wrong forum for this thread, but it’s a controversy in my eyes…

Yes

and b) really just kind of bother your ear?

Yes

Hi Dante,

God has no gender, but He chose to present himself to us as the Father and the Son (and the Holy Spirit - “It”?). It’s His decision, not ours.

As for other cases, I’ m rather in favor of being gender neutral or gender-inclusive, when both genders are meant. “Humans” is often useful.

Or you can choose the road of a preacher who said, “This message is for all men. And when I say ‘men’, I mean to embrace all women”!

(Se non è vero, è ben trovato!)

Verbum

Yes.

Applying the word “gender” to people also bothers me. Nouns have a gender, people have a sex.

The reason that this is important is that “sex” is based in biology and natural law. “Gender” connotes a choice, something that is subjective and can be chosen.

Now it has become so common that it is replacing the traditional terminology to the advantage of those who want the biological facts left out of the argument. Grrr…

Well now in modern usage (or should I say postmodern usage) the idea is that we have a physiological “sex”, but “gender” is a complex personality trait and set of social expectations and roles which one takes on, as defined by competing narratives of societal norms and personal preference.