Genuflecting and Bowing

I wasn’t sure whether this was more appropriate here or in “Traditional Catholicism,” but I figured either would work.

I’m an Anglican musician, and on occasion, some of the ensembles in which I sing will rehearse in Catholic churches. In my own (Episcopalian) church, I know the standard places in the liturgy and at other times to reverence the altar with a bow and to genuflect when entering/exiting and passing the tabernacle housing the Host (though this can be odd in my church as the tabernacle is placed on the side wall adjacent to the altar, so one never really passes in front of it . . . or do you, it’s just oddly placed).

Anyway, when rehearsing in a Catholic church, how similarly ought I to behave in terms of reverencing the altar or genuflecting toward the Host in the tabernacle? I’m used to bowing toward the altar/cross whenever crossing in front of it, no matter how far back in the church I may be. Should this be carried over to genuflecting as well?

Similarly, if we are spending the majority of our time at either the crossing or the chancel in front of the altar (but staying there, generally singing in an arc), would these actions best be done at the beginning and end of rehearsal alone?

All in all, I feel the need to show respect to the Lord and the symbols of the same, but I’m just not as certain in a Catholic church as I am in an Anglican church.

Thanks!

I am a former Episcopalian but it NEVER called myself a Protestant. But even now as a ex Anglo-Catholic I think my actions in church are more reverent than some Catholics. Like I still bow to the cross as it passes in procession.

Catholics genuflect toward the tabernacle, and only bow when their is none (like when it’s in a separate blessed Sacrament chapel.) But they don’t do both all of the time.

Hope this made sense.