Girlfriend Question

This is the first time I've ever really told anybody any of this stuff, so let me give a little background first.

I am a 19 year old male about to enter my second year of college :) Although I have been "Catholic" all my life, I didn't start to actually practice my faith until about the beginning of my senior year of high school. In about June of 2009 (right before I graduated high school) a lot of my family members would joke around and ask me if i wanted to be a priest (I have a large family, and I'd say that not very many of them practice their faith - so to see an 18 year old male actually trying to live a Christian life, I guess this must have meant I was going to be a priest :rolleyes:).

My mom was the one that was most insistent with her comments regarding the priesthood. I know she didn't want me to - she wants grandchildren and so I could tell that, while not against the idea, she would much rather me have a biological family.

The idea of the priesthood had never even entered my mind until my family members started making these comments. And it angered/scared the heck out of me. It was scary to think about the fact that God might be calling me to this. I hated the idea of being a priest. I don't necessarily know why, but I just did. And I tried to resist it as much as I could. I would use excuses, try to ignore it, hoped that it would go away - but it didn't.

And all the while, I was disappointed in myself because I thought I was at the point in my faith where I could honestly say that I would give up anything for God - and this priesthood situation was revealing how untrue that was. I was willing to give everything to God... except for my vocation. :D I was confused and wished that God could just let me know already what he wanted out of me.