Girlfriend's pap test

My girlfriend revealed to me she had an abnormal pap smear that came out positive for HPV when she was 17, she is now 28. She said that it has been normal since though. We have not had sex and we are waiting for marriage. I am one to think positive, however, I cannot help but to think about this and how this may affect us. Sources I have researched have been contradictory online. Should I be worried? Is this something that "goes away" or it can cause more serious conditions for me, her, or possibly a child?

Thanks in advance

It would be best to talk to a physician , perferably go to her doctor with her. Dont take medical advice off a message forum. I wish you both well. God Bless.

Luvtosew is right, but for now, keep in mind that there is a difference between low-risk and high-risk HPV. Not all infections affect the long-term health of the women or her sexual partner. I'm not a medical professional, but it seems that the risk to children is very low overall. You're going to have to get more information about your girlfriend from her doctor to know what exactly is going on. God bless you, brother. I will pray for you both.

HPV is tricky to describe without going into too much detail.

There are quite a few strains - think of it like a cold virus - there are a lot of them out there! However, there are a couple of strains that are potentially harmful - essentially able to lead to cancerous growth in that area of the body, which can lead to cervical cancer. However, if your girlfriend has been 'fine' since she was 17, and has been getting checked annually, I would not be too concerned.

I would be most concerned about her health - ensuring that she is getting her PAPs regularly, and letting her health care provider know that she had a positive HPV test when she was 17, if she sees different health care providers for each PAP.