Glossolalia or speaking in tongues

Hello everyone, I would like everyone to embrace this post as it is very out of the ordinary. Its ok to criticize or say mean things, I was a soldier in the army for ten years, I don’t get offended easily…

I was baptized Catholic as a newborn but raised in a church called the Apostolic Pentecostal Church. They strongly practiced the spirit of speaking in tongues.

Even thou we left the Catholic Church as I was a child, the pastor of the Catholic Church never turned his back on us or condemned us, we still stayed in touch.

However, once when I was driving the city bus a JW told me that the church that I had been going to was full of fools, that the speaking of tongues was just wrong.

I just really want to know what is your view of the speaking of tongues? I know there are Satanic groups and some Pagans that practice this as well, but the Church I was going to claimed to be of Jesus Christ, not Satan…

What are your views? Mark 16:17, Acts chapter 2, Acts 10:46, Acts 19:6, Romans 8:27, Jude 20, Old testament Isaiah 28:11

I’m Missouri Synod Lutheran - from our synod

Q. What is the Missouri Synod’s view on speaking in tongues, prophecy, and faith healing?

A. The Lutheran Church–Missouri Synod readily grants that at times in the past God has certainly bestowed upon his church certain “extraordinary gifts” of the Spirit (such as those mentioned in this question), and that it is certainly possible for God to grant those gifts still today. At the same time, the LCMS emphasizes that we have no promise in Scripture that God will grant all of the gifts of the Spirit to his church in all times and places, and it has expressed serious concerns about the unbiblical teachings and activities which have often accompanied claims regarding these gifts in the charismatic movement today.