[quote="CarolNoel, post:10, topic:440129"]
It has to have some wheat in it, so cannot be totally gluten free. Maybe false advertising..:)
Well, sort of....those are not exactly the words we need to use.
It's not a matter of "some wheat" but it has to be entirely wheat and no other grain, nor anything else (except enough water to make the wheat into dough). No rice, no corn, no potato...nothing.
It's possible to use wheat to make a true gluten-free host, but the problem with that is that it would not be bread--not bread as the Church understands it for the Eucharist (we call all kinds of things bread in everyday life). Some gluten is necessary in order for the process of making bread suitable for the Eucharist to actually occur.
The hosts that can be used for a valid Communion (and remember, if it's not valid, it's not Communion) are made from nothing other than wheat-and-water but some process is used to remove almost (but not quite all) the gluten.
Like I wrote earlier, it's important for one to know that those particular hosts have been approved by the Catholic Church. It's just not enough to read a label with generic descriptions like "communion hosts" or "for the Lords Supper" or "low gluten wafers."