God's Gender

A recent question popped up in another thread. So, to avoid a ‘thread hijacking’, I thought I’d start a new thread about it.

The original discussion was regarding those folks who wish to attribute female nouns and pronouns when referring to God.

Father Todd remarked the following:

It would be heterodox because the Church has ruled on it and said it is inappropriate. I am not speaking of Saginaw specifically since I have no knowledge of it. But it is important to remember that God has no gender. When a masculine pronount is used to describe God it isn’t describing God’s gender but rather a relationship to us.

In relation to God we all stand in the feminine because God initiates the love relationship with us and the only thing we can do before God is to receive. See JPII’s theology of the body for a more detailed explanation or check out a tape by Christopher West. You can also check this website for an answer I bet.

To say God is a male is incorrect. God has no gender per se. But to refer to God in the feminine also is incorrect. Both are at best heterodox at worst pagan.

Original Thread: The above post was #192
forums.catholic.com/showthread.php?t=29928&page=2&pp=100
continued…

Jumping down to post #200, a fellow member posted the following:

Dear Father,

I hope my question has not been asked before only to have been carelessly missed by me.

I do not understand how to refer to God as male can “at best be heterodox or at worst pagan,” when we have always been told to refer to Him as “Abba, our Father.” Even Our Lord taught us to pray saying, “Our Father.”

In Mark, Our Lord himself calls upon His Father to remove the cup.

What sort of Abba or Father is genderless, not to say feminine?

God bless,

Anna

continued…

this was where the thread really started vearing off course… but I have a weakness for being unable to leave a question unanswered…