Going into confession with a list?

Ok…so I’m rather new to Catholicism. I had my first confession and communion when i was about 7, but my parents and I both dropped off the faith shortly after that, and I came back to it about six months ago.
A couple months ago I had my first confession in several years. Beforehand, I wrote down a list of everything I could remember doing and brought it into the confessional with me.
After that i didn’t go to confession for a few months. I just went last week, and again I brought in a list with me of everything I could remember doing wrong.

Is this wrong to do? That first time last week I was so nervous, I know that if I hadn’t brought in a list I would have forgotten everything right off and probably confessed one thing of the long list I had (as it was, I forgot about half - the room was so dark I couldn’t read much). But maybe knowing that I had a written list left me to prepare myself less for confession. I was still so nervous, though - the confession I went to several months ago was in a rather large sized, brightly lit confessional in a huge cathedral - the one I went to last week, I knew it would be small and dark but it still overwhelmed me and I freaked out.

I guess when I get more used to going to confession I will stop bringing in written lists, I will probably just write them up and try to remember what’s on them. But for now, is it wrong to bring them in? Does it do anything to lessen the significance of the confessional?

some people recommend it, altough i would suggest you write it in code, so if you lose it nobody can know what your sins are.

Not a bad idea. Good for you. God bless

Take your list. And confess more regularly, so that you won’t need it (I hope :D)

There is no rule against it. Just be sure to destroy the list afterwards.

Destroy the list? Just out of curiosity - how crucial is that? For instance, if I didn’t mind so much people knowing my sins, would it be a necessity to destroy it?