Going to college vs. entering the seminary

Just a quick question. I'm a sophomore in high school, and am pretty sure i want to be a priest. What are the main advantages and disadvantages of entering the seminary immediately after high school?

I believe that you will need a college degree in order to get into seminary. Every priest I’ve talked to had gone to college before seminary. Oh, and many prayers for your decernment.

In most seminaries you take college level courses... You may have to find out with the order??

there is nothing wrong with going to Seminary right after High school. Most Seminarys have the Philosophy (College) program. If yours doesn’t You may need to go to an accredited University first. A vocation is not a baseball cap. A Vocation is not “One size fits all”. Some hear the call very young, and others don’t. Simple as that. Continue or at least start dialoguing with the Vocation Director of your Diocese. May the SACRED HEART Bless You and may HE make You a Priest and Saint for our Church!!

If you go straight out of high school you will be heading to a minor seminary where you will be studying to get your B.A. in philosophy. After four years there you will head off to major seminary where you will be studying theology. If you decide to go to college first, after you get your B.A. there, you will usually have 2 years of philosophy and 4 years of theology before you are ordained. Continue to pray and receive the sacraments. Begin to meet with the vocations director of your diocese. See where you are being called.

I am currently a seminarian at St. John Vianney College Seminary in Miami, FL.