Good and Fair Book on the Catholic Sex Scandel

Hey. I was wondering if anyone knew if there are any fair and honest books about the Catholic Church sex scandal. I’ve been collecting articles on this just for my own research. I like having these types of things on hand so when I tell people about the Church, its beliefs, and misunderstandings I can give them some proof. I’m a scientist so citing my sources is ingrained in me. :smiley:

nccbuscc.org/nrb/johnjaystudy/

Do you have a copy of the John Jay study?

It’s available on the USCCB website.

Thank you Barbkw I was looking of this study. I saw it mentioned in an article I downloaded here. Thank you.

Pedophiles and Priests: Anatomy of a Contemporary Crisis by Philip Jenkins is good. It was published 2001 - before the Jhn Jay study.

While there were pedophile priests (men who predatory rape very young children and preteens) the majority were pederast priests (adult men who are attracted to male teens).

While there were pedophile priests (men who predatory rape very young children and preteens) the majority were pederast priests (adult men who are attracted to male teens).

The book covers this as well as well as celibacy of priests which is always brought up as part of the problem.

Celibacy is not the problem. Unfaithfulness to the priesthood - including unfaithfulness to the practice of chastity - is the problem.

Indeed - the author discusses this thoroughly.

Goodbye Good Men - is about the causes.

Thank you. I'll check my local books stores. Thank you again.

Both books are relavant; jenkins’s book addresses the charges made against the Church in the media and others who are misinformed. Rose’s book zeros in on the seminaries.

I would suggest "Lead Us Not Into Temptation", by New Orleans journalist (and Catholic) Jason Berry. Berry was among the very first to delve into the problem, and this book, published in 1992, gives a gritty (to say the least) look at the problem in several different venues.