Gospel of St John

Pax!
I am studying the Prologue of the Gospel of John. It is really philosophical, especially due to the Greek. Was this Gospel originally written in Greek? Does the Church say so?

I would give you my best answer if I could lay my hands on my copy of The New Jerome Biblical Commentary.

Short of that, I checked with my copy of The Orthodox Bible. Its brief introduction did not discuss the original language. But, the commentary on John 1:1 had to do with the use of the Greek word “logos” which I think answers the question.

It’s a different subject altogether, but a Byzantine Catholic priest who was a guest on the EWTN Live tv program said that Greek was the common language in Rome for the first 500 years of the existence of the Church. I did not know that.

All of the New Testament was written in Greek.

Correct. Though there’s no manuscript evidence, though, most scholars believe that the Gospel of St Matthew was originally written in Aramaic.

So there’s no Church teaching on this?

Gospel of John was written in Greek. It was also the last gospel to be written. It definitely has a lot of Neo-Platonic ideas in it.

I believe it might be saying: Yes there is a logos. We all can see that the world around us reasonable. It is the logos that made it reasonable.

Furthermore, we Jewish people believe that the logos is really a loving being, and He became human. Of course, Jewish did not mean all Jews, but at lease some of the Jews.

Moreover, I believe John goes about telling us that the dove from the Ark of Noah, is not here in person. The groom from the book Song of Songs is here with us now. That Jacob’s well is really here with us. That the Lamb of Abraham, Isaac, Moses and the Passover is here with us in Jesus. That YHWH has a more complete name–Abba and that His love that became flesh has a name–Joshua–yhwh is our savior.

Got to go.

Please explain. St Thomas wrote a wonderful commentary on this Gospel but he was more into Aristoteles.