Guidance

Hello everyone,

I am new to the board, and frankly I am new to completely opening up to GOD and religion in my life. I’ve always been Catholic, but I would probably be labeled as a ‘cafeteria catholic’ or something similar. I attended Mass (inconsistently), I prayed very rarely (usually when I needed help) and tried to live a morally good life.

Three books later (almost done with the 3rd), i’m realizing how scared I am right now with how little I know and understand about faith, salvation, eternity, etc. The three books are The Shack, 90 Minutes in Heaven and 23 Minutes in Hell. Needless to say, I am glad that I have read these books, but I am also filled with questions, uncertainties, anxieties, etc. about the life I have lived and the direction I need to go. More specifically, how to practice being a good christian, how to develop a relationship with GOD, what is considered sinful, etc. I could go on and on, I just don’t know where to begin and/or stop.

The more I read, the more I become convinced that I want GOD in my life and I want to spend eternity in Heaven, but the more I read, the more anxious and confused I become as well.

I look forward to hearing your responses and being a part of this community.

Welcome!

CAF is best for specific concerns and questions - we’ll hopefully try to give honest helpful answers.

Do you attend Mass or know a good orthodox priest? If you do talk to your priest and tell him you are a returning cradle Catholic with many questions, you will be gladly welcomed. If you don’t, masstimes.org will direct you to Catholic churches near you

(A good test for orthodoxy is here: The importance of Catholic Orthodoxy, Basically check that the person is on board with contraception, women priests, and homosexuality all of which are strictly forbidden.)

Have you gone to confession? The ‘examination of conscious’ I use is here: Catholic Examination of Conscience or there are many others online.

Again WELCOME :D!