guilt after confession

what to do about guilt after confessions?

it’s not that I feel like God doen’st forgive me, but I feel if others knew how sinful I really was, they would hate me.

I was academically dishonst a long time ago, back when I thought I had to be the best at everything and really wanted to prove something to certain profs, since there was a tendency for them to think I couldn’t do anything because of my disability. I would always panick with questions on tests I didn’t know and look up answers sometimes. I didn’t do this for every test, or every class. just a couple, and generally worked hard but would get nervous for exams and forget things. I ended up getting good grades in these classes and feel like I don’t deserve them. also the profs like me and think I’m a good student but if they knew what I did, they would definitely change their opinions.

I’m wondering if I should reveal it. my confessor never told me to since it was a long time ago and the grades or situation can’t be changed and I didn’t really explain it in this much detail. I just feel like the profs like me and give me praise credit more than I actually deserve. It’s hard to still hear them say how good of a student I am, considering what i did. I mean, they saw other things too, I always went to class and did my homework and asked them for help if I needed it and they knew that I knew most of the material. but still, I made stupid decisions. on the other hand, I din’t want to ruin relationships with them but maybe they’re not worth keeping if they don’t know the truth about me.

I wish I could go back and undo it but I can’t.

The priest is “in persona Christi” and Jesus knows your heart, so the priest understood what you where saying even if you didn’t explain all of it. Be at peace. You are forgiven. If you still feel bad about it you can always go back and explain it more fully, however you would be not trusting reconciliation.