Harry Potter Film Review (Maybe A Couple Spoilers)

Hello,

My school had an advanced screening of the movie HP7 and I thought I'd take the liberty of writing a review.

I am not a professional movie critic for morals and artistic value, but since many will choose to see it before the reviews really come out, I thought I'd provide some direction to weary parents.

First off, I would like to say that I am a huge fan of the Potter books. I think they are well written fiction and they tell a moralistic tale. :thumbsup:

It's a great movie IMO and follows the book well with adding a few things to keep even readers of the series unsure of the next scene at times.

That being said, those of you looking for a good-triumps-over-evil, moral-filled story may be disappointed. While the side of good is, well, good (and there is space for a moral lesson or two), the movie itself is almost all action and of couse, it is only the first half of the book meaning the major good vs evil battle still has yet to occur by the end.

What little violence is usually as goreless as possible and although a few graphic scenes are implied, most are offscreen.

Those of you who have not read the book may be confused at times (many times) and may want to at least watch the sixth movie again.

MY FEW MAYBE-SPOILERS TO INFORM

Warning! At one point two characters are almost entirely naked (they are actually, but smoke covers a lot of it, and they are seen to the side, so it's not that bad). There is also an upsetting scene of torture and many scenes with blood.

END SPOILERS

This is not a kids movie! It merits its PG13 rating! Parents strongly cautioned for young kids IMO.

Any questions about it, please shoot me a PM.

CotL

Since the whole story is now fully known, I expect the last two movies to be the BEST!

Whatever, I still prefer potter puppet pals!

here's a sample

youtube.com/watch?v=tI7FkF3Z6ms