Has anyone been to Rome?

What is it like? Would you recommend it?

What’s the Tiber like - is it clean enough to actualy swim, or is it a filthy river full of, well, you know what?

Just wondering.

I’ve been a couple of times - about 25 years ago and about 2 years ago. I loved every minute of it. It is a very large city with tons of history. I love history so we walked all over the place just looking at things like the Coliseum, Pantheon, Castel St. Angelo and the catacombs.

Of course the best was the Vatican. When I went to the Sistine Chapel years ago it hadn’t been cleaned yet, but this last time made my mouth drop open. It was incredible. Also of course St. Peters - just wonderful. If you know ahead of time your itinerary, there may be special things you can do at the Vatican. I’m not good at planning that sort of stuff out, but you should ask around.

If you have an opportunity, definitely go there. You won’t be disappointed. :slight_smile:

Hello, Ag_not!

Yes, I have been to Rome, twice!!!
It is a wonderful city – definitely recommend you to go!!! :thumbsup:

The center of the city is like a real history - Roman forum, forums of the Imperators (Caesar, Augustus etc), Capitol Hill, Pantheon, Colosseum, the Vatican City etc.

Actually, in the center of the Rome EACH house is HISTORICAL. Not kidding – no new houses are allowed to build there nowadays!!!
It is really incredible!!!

(I think the last building established there was in the Piazza Venezia, somewhere between 1910-1930.)

About Tiber - I have heard that it is quite polluted. :slight_smile:
So, better dont go swimming there! :wink:

But – in any case if you can, go to Rome!!!

I get the euphamism of swimming the Tiber. I was just daydreaming and wondering if I could LITERALLY swim in the Tiber next Easter. :smiley: I guess I’ll just stick to the euphamism :stuck_out_tongue: