Head Covering - Style & Practice Questons - NOT a debate thread

Hello to the ladies who cover their heads for Mass!

I covered my head for the first time this Sunday. :smiley: It really felt good to do this, and my husband said that the angels were happy. :slight_smile: Even if he did tease me (in the sweetest way) that I looked like a gypsy girl. :rolleyes:

I tied an oblong flowered silk scarf around my head, and tied at my ear so the tails hung down in front. I have long hair, to the middle of my back, so my scarf only covered the top of and back of my head.

So my first question is - should I cover my hair completely? I see the itty bitty chapel veils, and I wonder if they really are more symbolic than actually performing the intended purpose, but then again I’m new to all this so I look to others for some input.

I’m thinking of making my own lace veil style, I love the shabbat styles that tie behind and hang down over the pony tail like these:

http://img256.imageshack.us/img256/7540/whitevictorianveniseveihe2.jpg

http://img155.imageshack.us/img155/794/ivoryshabbatveilorshawlae7.jpg

Also - I’m wondering if any of you choose when to cover you heads, no matter where you are at Mass, or do you follow the norm or how you “feel” about covering your head in certain situations? The reason I ask is because the parish we are planning to switch to I feel perfectly comfortable covering my head there, but the one where we are currently members I don’t feel comfortable at all. But may still attend there in the winter months because it is much closer. But I don’t want to be a hypocrite either - know what I mean? :shrug: For example, I’m going to be attending my step-sister’s baby’s baptism in a couple weeks, and my family (all Catholic) will freak out if I show up and cover my head. As I said, this is all new to me and I’m trying to work out all the details in my mind and heart over how, when, why, etc. :slight_smile: