Head coverings in your daily life?

Hi. I’m a new Catholic & I’m still learning. But I’m curious to know if catholic women can wear their head coverings everyday or do you just wear it at mass? Thank you for your help.

1 Like

No one will stop you from wanting to wear your head covering all the time, but when women do wear their head coverings (if at all) it is usually just during Mass (perhaps even during adoration).

Many nuns of course wear it all the time, and if you believe it is right, you may wear head covering more often if so desired, but you do not have to.

2 Likes

You can wear it everyday if you want to, but you might get some looks depending on what your headcovering is. I remember one lady saying that she forgot she had her lace veil on from church so when she went to the store after Mass people were giving her looks and she didn’t know why. :smile: Traditionally, though, women just wore it when they were in the church.

Thank you for your help.

Lol. I pray throughout the day. So I wasn’t sure if I should or could wear it all day or not. Thank you for your help.

If you have fair skin such as me, sunscreen and head coverings are essential!

I would note that through much of the time right up to the 20th century when women wore head coverings in the church, the head coverings did not necessarily have to be the veil that most women choose today, but could also just be a hat or cap of the type normally worn by women in whatever area of the world they were in.