Heaven and Unborn Children

I’m really at a loss for words with this debate I’m having…I’m about to go to bed, and pray really hard about it. I’m going to post some of my posts as well as his. Please help if you can! Sources are lovely.

HIM:

"I want to start this with a disclaimer. I do not mean to be too personal, or to hurt anyone’s feelings. I respect the fact that this post may run a little too close to home for some, especially women.

When I was a student at Bible college, my Survey of Doctrine professor brought up the topic of unborn children, Heaven, and the “age of understanding”. He said that many Christians believe that children who are miscarried or who die before a certain age are automatically granted entrance into Heaven. The only verse, he said, that people had to support this was 2 Samuel 12:23 -

?But now he has died; why should I fast? Can I bring him back again? I will go to him, but he will not return to me.?

This verse is concerning his son who had died due to David’s sin with Bathsheba. According to him, this is not necessarily talking about David going to Heaven, but could simply say that his son will not return to life, but that David will one day, himself, die. He also said that he is unsure where this idea of an “age of understanding” came from. He said that he has found no basis for it in Scripture, and to be honest, I cannot find one either.

His conclusion was that he would not say for sure what happens to unborn children, as he did not have all the answers, but that he could not say with certainty that he believe young and unborn children who passed away would be in Heaven.