Heliocentrism and the Church

catholicintl.com/products/books/gwwprint.htm

Ok, I’ve just looked this up, but having looked up Cosmology and Astronomy from the top experts in the field, I’m extremely skeptical on the idea of Geocentrism. I know it’s not a matter of morality or dogma, but it still seems strange to me that modern people would think too hard about it; since from what I’ve seen, Heliocentrism is proven in just about every way.

Any experts here?

I’m not an expert by any stretch of the imagination.

But neither are “true” in that you can pick any point in the universe and make the same claim of “centrality”.

Each just represents a different point of reference.

i.e. The center of my universe is that 5 year old daughter of mine when she smiles at her daddy. But that’s not likely to be your point of reference.

What does seem to be clear is that gravity works and that mass attracts mass, but neither the Sun nor the Earth can properly be said to be the center of the universe.

Chuck

The thing I’ve noticed about Geocentric Theory today is that it’s based on the idea that all we see is the entire Universe. The work of master physicists and men like Stephen Hawking (Regardless of his anti-religious ideas, he’s one of the most brilliant men ever to live, and I trust him on matters of Cosmology pretty well), and other Cosmologists have taken away the key idea for a Geocentric Universe, which I see as problematic for the modern theory.

Again, this is not a matter of Faith or Morals, and the Church could have certainly been wrong on this.

Actually, it is modern science that is credited with too much, I think. See this thread, it talks about the relation between our observations, the assumptions made, and the resulting interpretations. See especially the exchange between trth-skr and psteichen.