Help from Lutherans

I am studying Luther in a little more depth and I am wondering can you steer me to any writing from Luther himself where he discusses nailing the 95 theses to the door of the church in Wittenberg Germany. I think it might be illuminating to hear what the man himself had to say about this act and how he compiled the list.

Thanks.

This might be a start.

iclnet.org/pub/resources/text/wittenberg/luther/nine5-albrecht.txt

Jon

Yes and thank you for that but that does not discuss the event its self.

You would probably have to try Luther’s Works for something like that, but I will keep looking.

Jon

Interesting question.

If you want to read what Luther had to say, the following site contains a lot of his writings, including A Sermon on Indulgences and Grace.

iclnet.org/pub/resources/text/wittenberg/wittenberg-luther.html#sw-nobility

If you want an historical text, or a biography, there are thousands of books dealing with Luther and the Protestant reformation. As in any controversial event, there are a lot of biased views for and against. My suggestion is that you begin with an Internet search and try to sort out the more objective writers.

Yes well I am not an authority on Luther and I was hoping a Lutheran who had knowledge of this could direct me to a specific source but thank you I am aware that there are mountains of documentation on Luther and his philosophies but that is not what I was asking about.

I’ve poked around in Luther’s Works and I don’t see much about the actual posting of the thesis - and this does fit with how historian think Luther intended the paper to be viewed as.

Not as a “bold Luther striding up to the cathedral and proudly nailing his 95 thesis to the door to spark the Reformation”. Instead as a monk who posed his concerns on the wall where other people posted notices and other things.

It wasn’t supposed to be a ‘big deal.’ - just one man who noticed a few things that needed addressing.