Help Me. Is this for real?

Today I got a strange email from a man named Matt Freese. It was a query letter to a publisher. Well, I am a failed writer but I know what sitting around waiting for a response to a query letter.

So I rewrote him explaining that I was not a publisher or editor of a magazine that he had made a mistake but that I wished him well with his short story collection.

He emailed me again and told me that he noticed that I had a blog about book reviews. This is true, it is a different blog then is listed in my signature because it is so new that I have very few articles on it.

Any way, he asked if I wanted to read his book and post a review on my blog. He told me that he could send me a hard copy of his book.

I did a google search, there* is* an author really named Matt Freese. I certainly don’t mind having a new book to read, especially if it is free.

And I suppose that my address could be easily found on the internet. I am not unlisted in the phone book and my email is my first and last name, so it isn’t like someone couldn’t find me if they wanted to.

So, is this legitimate, do you think? Or is there some weird internet scam involving authors out there? :blush: If having a internet blog on books is going to get me free products then I will have to step up my reviews.:stuck_out_tongue:

It is entirely possible it is legitimate.

It also may be an attempt to get your address under the guise of sending you a copy of the book. Consider getting a PO box that you use for these types of things so you can keep your actual residential address private.

That is a good idea. I had never thought of it before.:slight_smile:

I think I’d contact his publisher, directly. Probably someone in their marketing dept. It’s not unusual for an author to request reviews from bloggers at all, but it’s not unreasonable to go straight to the source (publishers want their books reviewed, too, of course!) and then not have to worry about giving out your home address.