Help me pick my saint!

Hello!

I am nearing the end of my RCIA journey and I am in need of a patron saint. Here is some helpful information about me…

I am 25 years old, married, and live in Texas. I am converting from the Baptist church. We have not had a Catholic in our family for close to 300 years.

I am a high school teacher.

I am interested in contemplative prayer and Eucharistic devotion. I am huge fan of St. Augustine, St. Anselm, and Thomas Merton.

I am a goofy guy. I love to read, cook, play video games, and love trivia. I like to talk philosophy and politics. I sometimes battle depression and a general feeling of powerlessness.

I was thinking about someone like St. Benedict.

Thank you for your help!

St. Benedict would be a great choice.

I chose Saint Nicholas of Tolentino, but have a strong commitment to the way Augustine changed his life and sometimes wish I had chosen him. All the same I am happy with my decision because Nicholas was truly a great man. Here is more info about him ewtn.com/library/MARY/TOLENTIN.HTM.

Also, you can find a list of Saints at this website; take a look.
catholic.org/saints/stindex.php

:thumbsup::thumbsup::thumbsup:

St. Benedict seems like a good choice. What I reccomend that you do is to get yourself a book of saints, and read up on their lives. Pray to some that are especially striking to you, and sort of let them pick you. That’s how I picked my saint, Joan of Arc. (my name on this site, Jeanne, is after her)

-Jeanne

Hi! Welcome to the Church, and good luck on your endeavor to choose a patron saint! :slight_smile:

St. Francis of Assisi!!! Not picking him as your patron saint is an automatic ticket to HELL!!! I AM JUST KIDDING!!! :smiley:

I love Saint Benedict…excellent choice! :slight_smile:

Pick the one who’s name you already share. Johns can pick any of the saints with that name, Peters, pick Peter. Or find a Saint whose name you like, then read about that Saint. Good luck.:harp: