Help with discernment

Hi, everyone. This is the first time I’ve really posted anything like this, so here goes:
I am currently in my first year of college, discerning between diocesan priesthood and the married life. I first felt “called” to the priesthood about a year ago, and since then I’ve been trying to attend certain events in my archdiocese for help in discerning priesthood, but to no avail.:frowning:
I have spoken with priests (about 4) about my calling, and they all agree that I should finish my college studies, which will be in about 4 or 5 years, and then go to seminary. But recently, I’ve met a nice girl, or more correctly, I’ve had an on-again, off-again crush on her for about 3 or 4 years, and only just recently started talking to her and hanging out with her. I had never thought that I’d be able to talk to her, let alone be friends with her! Can anyone help me out with this? Would it be okay to date her?

I'm currently in discernment myself, but leaning heavily toward the seminary and diocesan priesthood.

I would recommend you try to get a spiritual director (priest) to guide you as you decide your path. I could recommend an excellent book also: "Discernment of Spirits" by Fr. Timothy Gallagher, OMV.

As far as dating, to be fair you might mention to her that you are in discernment. If you've done that already, kudos. But in your circumstances I encourage you to get help from someone you trust, and face to face. A forum like this will not be the absolute best resource to meet your needs. A spiritual director would be indispensable.

One final thought. There's a reason most dioceses today (if not all) recommend that young men experience college first, before deciding on seminary: if you make it through college without being drawn specifically toward marriage then it becomes a bit clearer that God may be calling you to something else. I hope that makes sense. ;)

May God continue to bless you on your journey!

Tom