Help with starting a young adult ministry

Hi, everyone. I am new to these forums. I came upon this website while doing research for a young adult group I am trying to start at my local parish.

There are three things we wish to accomplish:

1. Learn, discuss, and UNDERSTAND our faith (study catechism, sacred scripture and how it relates to Catholicism, writings of saints, priests, and popes, and especially apologetics)

2. Help with charitable organizations such as St. Vincent de Paul, and help with activities and ministry within our own parish (through helping with things like Life Teen, Edge, or whatever the parish needs help with).

3. Social stuff (this shouldn’t be too difficult, things like hikes, movies, basketball, ect.).

The second two won’t be too difficult. The first one is where I am having issues. I am not an expert on Catholicism or catechism. I really don’t know much at all. In fact, I went to the parish office asking about a young adult group specifically for my parish, and that led to me trying to make one! I am starting this with the full support of the RE director and the priests, but they aren’t really sure of how to organize this, either.

What I am looking for is a starting point. I have no clue where to begin. Here are some recommendations I’ve received:

1. Rediscovering Catholicism by Matthew Kelly

2. Adventure Bible Series by Jeff Cavins

3. Catholic Catechism Explained by ?

4. Catholic Christianity by Peter Kreeft

5. Books from what was formerly Familia, such as God’s Call to Holiness and Truth, Faith, and Reason.

I’m looking for a guided way to understand the faith. There are so many different things we could jump to, but I’d rather keep it organized and have a specific starting point. How should I do this? Should we all go over a certain piece of reading material, and then discuss it? I’m really just lost on where to go with this.