Help with the In-laws

My wife and I married in June of 2005. We were currently attending a Protestant church and married by our pastor at the time. Prior to this, I had been studying the truth claims of the Catholic Church for about 2-3 years. In August we started RCIA to further our inquiry. We have since decided to enter the Church at Easter.

Problem: My wife’s parents are hardcore Assemblies of God members that hate anything that smacks of Rome. They hate me now, thinking that I decieved them in asking for their daughter’s hand in marriage as a Protestant all the while knowing I would become a Catholic. They find it suspicious that I waited right after we married to join the Church. I hope you understand that’s not how it happened.

They have made some rather strong comments to my wife and her siblings about me (however, they’re always cordial to me). What am I supposed to do? It causes my wife great amounts of stress. I wrote her dad a letter clearing up the deception issue and inviting him into some healthy dialogue on the issue, but he has never responded to me. That was months ago. He has written and spoken to my wife, however, sent her articles to try and disprove the Church, but will not address me.

Again, what am I supposed to do?

[quote=Everyman]What am I supposed to do? It causes my wife great amounts of stress. I wrote her dad a letter clearing up the deception issue and inviting him into some healthy dialogue on the issue, but he has never responded to me. That was months ago. He has written and spoken to my wife, however, sent her articles to try and disprove the Church, but will not address me.

Again, what am I supposed to do?
[/quote]

I am very sorry for you and your wife. But am very happy that you found the Catholic Church. In dealing with people from Assembly of God I understand your dilemma.
Please continue to pray for them and just be a good example of a Catholic for them to see.
By their fruits you will know them.