Helping people with disabilities, esp. nonverbal

I am interested in helping people with disabilities, especially those who are nonverbal. I have mild cerebral palsy myself due to a variety of causes and it has taken me YEARS to speak with any kind of fluency. Physically I'm not that impaired but have a few mild problems. So I'm interested in helping other people especially those who can't speak.

From what I understand, speech/communications therapy is most important to a lot of people with disabilities. I'm interested in finding out more about communication devices and maybe purchasing them for children or adults who can't speak, and helping them get training in how to use them. I have a physics degree and think I could learn to do this. I'm not qualified to be a speech therapist, and there are plenty of those out there anyway. My focus is more on helping people who are intelligent but not able to communicate learn how, when poverty might be a barrier b/c they can't afford the really good communication devices out there.

Any ideas on where to start? thanks.

I just wanted to say that I think its wonderful that your are doing this! My sister is autistic and doesn't "speak". We need more people like you!! :)

Check with your local Vocational Rehabilitation office. With your degree and level of interest, you could fit well into a company that manufactures or sells such devices. Also, larger special education service providers often employ people who specialize in that.