Here comes the self-pitying rant from the one who isn't good enough

Things were going really well for me, focusing more on school, feeling more detached from my painful, miserable breakup, etc. etc. The depression has remained, but it was a bit better. Now I really feel like it’s going downhill again. My computer caught a horrible virus and I’m a college student, I kind of need my computer, I don’t know if I’ll be able to save it. In all my free time for the past two days I’ve been trying to fix it. I can’t afford to take it to anyone, I can’t afford anything. My ex posted things on his online profile that have upset me, and I thought I was doing so much better with that whole thing. I’m trying to be patient and remember that if God does want us t be together then it will happen just on God’s timeline, not mine, and it won’t matter what happens in between now and then. I just don’t understand how I could have been so loved and now it’s like I was never there, like I never mattered. We had been talking again and it was going well, I thought. I was doing better for a couple weeks and now I feel like maybe God is testing me with various things, testing my patience and etc. I was very patient at first with these things, but after trying to fix something for two days straight when I have a ton of work, and seeing things that upset me when I really thought there might be some hope…I just want to hide under my bed even moreso than usual. It’s like there’s something I’m not getting, always has been with my religion.
What’s the difference between depression/self-loathing and being a good Catholic? How can we ever relax and be okay and say “God loves me” when we know we’re all so horrible and disgusting? Why does this religion tell us that we’re loved as we are and then turn around and say, now you have to change? I need so badly to get better, there’s so much I have to do, school and family, etc. etc. I just would rather die.