Ok. Just saw my PM about the Celiac thread and sorry I’m late getting here. I saw the message pop up and forgot to go back and read it :o
Anyway. I’m Celiac. Been Gf (gluten-free) for 3 years now I think.
Firstly - Celiac is NOT an allergy at all. It’s a disease. Ingesting even small amounts of gluten destroys the cilia (small hairs) which line the small intestine. This disables the absorption of nutrients from the foods eaten, so people with Celiac have all sorts of malnutrition and vitamin difficiency issues. There are gastro-intestinal symptoms (most common), though a small percentage (like me) have neurological symptoms, and there are even some who don’t exhibit any obvious symptoms at all. Celiac is commonly misdiagnosed as a variety of ailments, from IBS to MS (Drs. thought I had MS despite the lack of lesions on my MRI). There is a strong link between Celiac, MS, Diabetes, and even Autism. I can’t remember the science behind it, but they are somehow all closely related. In fact, those with MS and Autism frequently benefit from going on a gf diet.
I would advise AGAINST drinking from the chalice unless it is a seperate chalice w/out the piece of host. I would also advise sitting in the front pew to receive the cup so you won’t have to share it after women wearing lipstick may have received (most makeup has wheat in it).
I get very low-gluten hosts from the Benedictine sisters in Missouri. They are safe for Celiacs - made from wheat starch. I know that sounds bad, but the ppm (parts per million) of gluten is deemed safe for the Celiac community. I’ve not had a problem with receiving them. You can get them here: benedictinesisters.org/altarbread/orderform.html
They are the only hosts safe for Celiacs and approved for use in the mass.
Celiacs cannot have any wheat, barley, rye or oats or anything derived from them. The longer you go gf, the more sensative you become to those glutens. Gluten is a protein in all grains (corn, rice, quinoa, etc.) but Celiacs are only intolerant of the proteins found in wheat, barley, rye and oats. Once dx-ed, you must stay on the diet. I’m not trying to scare anyone, but after time of consuming those glutens, even in small quantities, you increase your chances of developing cancer. Never think you can get away with sneaking a little here and there.
We are lucky to live in the times we do. Had this happened to me 10 years ago, I may not be here to tell about it. But we are so lucky that we don’t need medicines or operations to get through this - just a change of diet!
For support, there is a message board here: www.celiac.com
You can look up just about anything there and get info. That site also has a “safe and forbidden” ingredients list.
You can order a binder with mainstream gluten-free foods listings to take with you to the grocery store here: www.csaceliacs.org
If anyone needs more info, just give me a PM. I’d be glad to help!