HHS Mandate

I am seeking your help and advice. I am a teacher at an independent Catholic school affiliated with a diocese,

On Wednesday, we were informed that the school is going to comply with the HHS mandate via the insurance company who will provide contraception, including abortion inducing drugs, directly to the employees. In fact, we were told a card will be sent to women in our home so they can get access to contraception.

The headmaster is opposed to the mandate, but states they have little choice, and will abide by the law on a temporary basis until such time the supreme court decide one way or the other. He mentioned the recent national bioethical center document stating that such cooperation is mediate material cooperation but licit. ncbcenter.org/document.doc?id=585

The same document says employees can sign up for the plan. My family, including a sick newborn, need health care, which can, at times, be life or death. However, I need guidance as to whether paying for my health care on a temporary basis would morally licit. If not, then I will drop my healthcare coverage immediately, and find whatever alternative I can, while offering our struggle to God. My wife and I discussed this very thing, but are seeking guidance. We will do that which is in unity with the Church.

I know that Cardinal Burke has spoken out against the mandate, and I know it is morally repugnant. I have read different perspectives from Catholic Moralists with varying positions.

Please advise, in Christ,

The National Catholic Bioethics center says that participating in the insurance plan is morally licit. While they can only offer an informed opinion, not an authoritative answer, you shouldn’t worry about personal sin in this matter. Your have an obligation is to provide care for your children; you of course also have a moral obligation to not use the features of the plan that conflict with Catholic teaching.