High School Student Tackled And Held Down By Police Officers For Using Her Cell Phone (Video)

This is the third paragraph from the article:

Perez says her mother has been undergoing dialysis due to kidney problems, and when she used her phone, it was because her father needed to update her on her mother’s treatment that day.

opposingviews.com/i/society/crime/high-school-student-tackled-and-held-down-police-officers-using-her-cell-phone-video

I find it to be really sad that she was treated this way just because she wanted to check up on her mom. It seems to me that she was concerned about her mom’s health and so she wanted to receive the update from her father about her mother’s treatment.

I’m so glad I graduated when I did (7 years ago.) This kind of stuff didn’t happen, at least not in my area.

Maybe it did and we just didn’t hear about it because there were no cell phones with video cameras and no place to upload the video to make it viral, but this 'three police officers tackle innocuous bystander for x minor infraction" phenomena seems to be a recent (and alarmingly escalating) trend.

Sheesh.

Better not jaywalk, they might just beat you to death or shoot you.

Where I live, that behavior just puts one at risk of injury from motorists.

Or there just weren’t enough people with video cameras around then.

A teenage girl screaming is not evidence of the police doing anything wrong. The video shows zero wrong-doing on the part of the officers. She was not held down for using the cell phone, she was held down for fighting with the officers, who only tried to take the phone because she did not give it up. Every action taken was a direct response to the girl breaking the rules at the school, refusing to accept the consequences of her actions and then resisting the legitimate command of the officers. Unless further evidence comes forward, I have to side with the officers on this one.