Historical Authenticity?

How do we know that the Early Church writings are authentic?
There are some theories going around online and in many circles, that what we consider to be The Church Fathers, were selected as “Church Fathers” later on when their theories “won out”
There is also the theory that the writings were all fabricated at a later date. How do we know that this is not true? How do we defend the authenticity of Historical documents?

Could you cite some examples? I’m no expert, but I think it’s pretty widely accepted that some writings (however good) may have been falsely attributed to certain Fathers (or certain writers for various reasons wrote under their names), thus you see an attribution to Pseudo-so-and-so here and there. But if you’re talking about a wholesale dismissal of Patristic writings in general, I think that some people apply a double standard when it comes to Christian documents versus others. Test it out, see if any history is left after you apply the same criteria to all MSS across the board.

For example? Any of them. In particular, Pre-Nicene Fathers.
I suppose at the root of my question is how do we know that the traditions of the Fathers were the correct ones and not what we deem as Heretics?

Over the course of many centuries, the Catholic Church has listened carefully to all of her sons, Ignatius, Arias, Tertullian, Origen, Jerome, Augustine, etc., and by the protection of God which we know as infallibility, she has discerned which ideas are correct and which are false.

How do we know the NT is authentic?

Randy,
This is a great excerpt, and I agree fullheartedly, however, this answer would not fly in the face of critical srutiny.
Tertullian, according to History, was a heretic before becoming a great Apologist. Origen’s later writings are considered heretical.