Historical Woman and the Catholic Church

Note before I begin my thread,
This is not a thread to debate female ordination. It may be of significance to the discussion at one stage, and it may be profitable to bring up, but we will not go into the doctrinal basis for the prohibition on female ordination. Roma locuta est, causa finita est.

Today I had a Historical and Cultural Studies lecture and tutorial at uni (I’m studying music at the Conservatorium, but they’re getting us to do history… go figure…)
This semester, we are discussing European history from 500-1000 AD.
Today, medieval women as the topic of learning.

Basically, the lecturer and the students who gave a presentation during the tutorial afterwards blamed the Catholic Church for the extreme subordinate attitudes towards women during this period.

They quoted scripture (Genesis and 1 Corinthians) to further their claims that the Catholic Church supported gross female subordination, and that the Christian faith in itself is inherently misogynist. They said that by these quotes, and other quotes by various bishops and theologians (even St Thomas Aquinas), the Church felt justified to permit such a society to continue.

I voiced my opinion during the tutorial, saying that the Catholic Church has never taught that females were inherently inferior to males.
They wouldn’t hear a word of it.

Thoughts, anyone?

No, the Church has never “taught” that BUT those with the power have made absolutely sure that no female has ever had direct magesterial influence so that the ultimate decisions on all doctrines, dogmas, and binding teachings are restricted to males.

I’d suggest history books by Regine Pernoud. She’s a French historian, a Catholic, and a good author.

You probably won’t be able to counter their bigotry.

Actual examples of powerful female women, such as Elanore of Acquitaine and others, will probably not put a dent in their ideology.

It is ideology they are after here, not history.