Holy Day of Obligation question

Is the Ascension a Holy Day of Obligation in the US (Diocese of Joliet in Illinois)? And it’s on May 5th this year, right? My parish’s online calendar doesn’t mention Holy Day Masses this Thursday at all, and other nearby parishes don’t either. Am I missing something?

No, it’s been transferred to next Sunday, which is, of course, itself a Holy Day of Obligation.

dioceseofjoliet.org/odw/content1.php?secid=27

According to this website: dioceseofjoliet.org/odw/content1.php?secid=27, the Ascension is transferred to the Seventh Sunday of Easter, May 8th, in your diocese.

Only the ecclesiastical provinces (archdioceses) of Boston, Hartford, New York, Newark, Philadelphia, and Omaha celebrate Ascension on Thursday.

Oh, ok.,thanks
So much I still don’t know about being Catholic… :blush:
Looks like I don’t have to worry about Mother Mary’s Assumption either since it falls on a Monday this year.

I’m still learning! I have known the Ascension to be celebrated only on Thursday, so I know how you feel.

In the EF, it is celebrated on Thursday. It is celebrated in the OF on Sunday, if the Ascension Thursday Solemnity is not considered as an obligation (people find it hard to go to mass on a Thu. in an area)

Ecclesiastical Province doesn’t mean Archdiocese. The Ecclesiastical Provinces are named after the Archdiocese. They are made up of the Archdiocese and its suffrien dioceses.

To clarify the above, this means that the Assension is a Holy Day of Obligation for everyone living in the following states:

Ecclesiastical Province of Boston: all dioceses in Maine, New Hamsphire, Vermont, and Massachusetts.

Ecclesiastical Province of Hartford: all dioceses in Connecticut and Rhode Island

Ecclesiastical Province of New York: all dioceses in New York State

Ecclesiastical Province of Newark: all dioceses in the state of New Jersey

Ecclesiastical Province of Philadelphia: all dioceses in the state of Pennsylvania