Holy Days of Obligation

Hi! I am trying to get a grasp on the holy days of obligation. I have some questions:

A holy day of obligation is a day that it is requires that a Catholic attend mass, correct? I know this would definitely be Sundays and that can be fulfilled by going to any mass on Sunday or the Saturday vigil mass.

On other days, such as the Assumption of the Blessed Virgin Mary that is coming up on August 15th, is the daily mass the one a person should attend? Or is there a “special” Mass that takes place on that day. I looked at the calendar for the church that I have started attending, and I saw that the only Mass listed is the 9 a.m. daily mass, but maybe the calendar hasn’t been updated to reflect any other times that mass might exist on that day.

I ask this because I am a teacher and the busiest day of the school year this year is August 15. We have district staff development and meet the teacher. I’ll basically be at work from 8 am until 8 pm. It’s also one of those days that a teacher can’t really miss. I’m not Catholic yet, so I guess technically I’m not obligated to do anything, but I know it’s the right thing to do. In the event that a person misses mass on these days, is it considered a sin?

[quote="leamar3, post:1, topic:333088"]
Hi! I am trying to get a grasp on the holy days of obligation. I have some questions:

A holy day of obligation is a day that it is requires that a Catholic attend mass, correct? I know this would definitely be Sundays and that can be fulfilled by going to any mass on Sunday or the Saturday vigil mass.