Homeopathy = Placebo

Why do so many otherwise skeptical & intelligent Catholic parents get sucked into this quackery that’s been grandfathered into medicine?
Chemically speaking there’s nothing leftover of the herbs homeopathic remedies claim to contain.The only traceable ingredients are lactose & fillers, depending on the product.Yet folks will swear up & down these sugar pills work.:confused:
The same parents who might eschew yoga & martial arts for New Age/Eastern religion connections buy right into this foolishness.What’s up?:shrug:

What do you mean by homeopathy? I’ve used herbs to treat some stuff and it’s worked …

Herbs can work because they have legitimate pharmaceutical uses.Homeopathic remedies have no chemically detectable amount of the active ingredients they claim to contain(except lactose) so are not legit.They fall more under a belief system than science:“If you believe it will work, it does, etc.”

Do you work in the sciences? I am a PhD student in the sciences and have found the enthusiasm towards homeopathy on this site to be a little mystifying. (If so, I know of one other scientist on this forum, so we’re not alone…)

Also, the above comment is correct. Herbs and homeopathy are NOT the same thing. Many herbs have proven to be effective, and the theories of herbal remedies fall within mainstream science. In contrast, the proposed mechanisms of action for homeopathic remedies (such as the ones proposing new configurations of atoms in water molecules) conflict with decades worth of empirically verified scientific research.

Nope, just have taken some science courses & one that addressed the subject of homeopathy during the course work.
I sympathize with folks who are frustrated with the medical options they are offered by physicians, but we have to have legitimate alternatives-not quackery.Homeopathy is pretty much like the Emperor with no clothes in the old fairy tale.