Homosexual religious without being ordained?

Is it possible that a man who is homosexual but live chastely can be friar or brother but without being priest?

I know that the homosexuals can’t be ordained according to the Instruction of the Congregation for Catholic Education, but I don’t know if this Instruction includes the impossibility of joining a religious order or institute like a friar or religious without being ordained too.

God blesses all of you and sorry for my mistakes with English.

I am not an expert on this by any means, but I do not think homosexuality means that one cannot be ordained. There may be a need for a period of chastity/spiritual direction before preparing for the priesthood though. I am unclear about what Catholic education has to do with it. Could you tell us a bit more about your understanding?

I think the person would need to contact the Order, maybe make a retreat with them, and have a talk with the vocations director there. If it’s God’s Will a way will open.

If the person has made a commitment to live as a celibate, what difference does it make what gender he is giving up? :shrug:

In Fr. Andrew Apostoli’s book on celibacy, “When God Asks for an Undivided Heart,” he has an entire chapter on homosexuality as it pertains to the celibate vocation. It would be a good read for you!

Would it be worth joining a lay group such as the carmelites and see ways of managing celibacy and desire and talk to your priest in confidence.

good luck

same sex attraction is a disorder,unlike being attracted to the opposite sex.and the vow of celibacy for someone suffering from same sex attraction is different in that they are aren’t, in your words "giving up "a good.

I think it is grey area on whether or not a homosexual can be a priest. Technically, no. However, if a man is not open about his attractions :shrug:. I think the reality is open homosexuals are not supposed to be ordained.