Honesty on these forums?

I’ve been hanging out here for a few months. On the non-catholic forum but also a few others. Because I am not a practicing Catholic, there are lots of threads I refrain from posting on, because I don’t feel it is fair to compromise anyone’s beliefs by offering a non-catholic opinion on some issues.

But lately a few threads have got me wondering about honesty and openess. When someone asks a question that could be “revealing” about whether or not someone is a “good” Catholic, very often all the answers are REALLY SUPER PERFECT CATHOLIC.

Like is there really no one here who has resorted to birth control who is willing to own up to it for the sake of discussion with someone who is all tied in knots over a horrible situation? Does everyone here really have a rosary or saint medal hanging from their rear view mirror and no one has “secular” stuff?

Are you really all that good? Or, do you refrain from sharing who you really are so as not to be an occasion for sin and doubt for others? I can see the good of that, but wow, sometimes I feel like I stumbled into Catholic Oggo Boggo land.

cheddar…whistling, where have all the humans gone?

[quote=cheddarsox]I’ve been hanging out here for a few months. On the non-catholic forum but also a few others. Because I am not a practicing Catholic, there are lots of threads I refrain from posting on, because I don’t feel it is fair to compromise anyone’s beliefs by offering a non-catholic opinion on some issues.

But lately a few threads have got me wondering about honesty and openess. When someone asks a question that could be “revealing” about whether or not someone is a “good” Catholic, very often all the answers are REALLY SUPER PERFECT CATHOLIC.