Hospital Nurses and birth control pills

I am an RN working in a hospital with patients who have both mental health and substance abuse issues. Recently, a patient was admitted and her doctor said that she could continue her birth control pills while hospitalized. As a nurse, I am expected to dispense all medications the doctor has prescribed, but I don’t see any way that I could give her these pills. I don’t want to lose my job, but I also want to stay true to my faith. Last week, I dispensed her the other medications that the doctor prescribed, but instead of opening the plastic pack of birth control pills (which held a 30 day supply) and giving her a pill, I put the pack in front of her and allowed her to take her own pill. Even though I didn’t give it to her directly, I did bring it to her. Am I still wrong to do this? Are there any concience laws (in Florida especially) that would protect me should I refuse to give her them? I am very concerned about this, and appreciate your responses. God bless

I’d be very concerned if I couldn’t trust the nursing staff at a hospital to follow my doctor’s instructions. What if you take it upon yourself to withhold these pills, and it turns out they are not, or not only, for birth control, but to treat another condition?

Like the other poster said, they may not be for contraceptive purposes, plus, I assume while this person is hospitalized she will not be participating in any “activities” that would even allow the contraceptive portion to be put to any use. During her hospital stay, you are probably giving her something that will just simply lessen menstrual cramps.

If these were for a contraceptive purpose, I’m pretty sure delivering the box would be immoral.

But given that she’s in a hospital, I doubt it’s for contraception, so there should be no problem.