House panel approves bill that shields Kansans who refuse to serve same-sex couples on religious grounds

House panel approves bill that shields Kansans who refuse to serve same-sex couples on religious grounds

TOPEKA — The Kansas House will move forward with a bill that would give government employees the right to refuse service to same-sex couples on the basis of their religious beliefs.

Republican supporters of House Bill 2453 say the bill concerns religious liberty. Democratic opponents said the bill unfairly targets gay Kansans. The two sides talked circles around each other Thursday at a meeting of the House Committee on Federal and State Affairs.

kansas.com/2014/02/06/3271717/house-committee-approves-religious.html

As a Kansas resident, I can pray our religious liberties are upheld. :thumbsup: As a realist, I wonder if this legislation will pass. :frowning:

:):thumbsup::bounce::yup::clapping:

How disgusting! If this passes, I’m sure a court will throw it out.

Sorry, but government employees work for everyone, not just straight people. Refusing to serve a gay person at the DMV is not a religious liberty. (I know that’s not what the sponsors intended it to do, but the language is frighteningly broad.)

It will be interesting to see what happens when a clerk discriminates against a Christian marriage and claims religious grounds.

Yes! What ever happened to professionalism?

From the article service still has to be provided to all, it is just that a clerk can abstain from providing the service based upon religious grounds.

Sounds like a case of good politics but bad law.

This means either the state agencies have to have a redundant workforce to fill in at a moments notice (which isn’t going to happen) or not provide equal service (which is unconstitutional.)

This won’t hold up in court.

are Justices of the Peace “government employees”?

yes, well they are a government official