How do I read the Bible?

Hello there,

Being a newbie I just bought my first Bible, Ignatius Press Second Catholic Edition.
Where do I start? Just dive in or have a more structured approach.

Perhaps learn to read using Lectio Divina first?

I’m in the very early stages and there are many major changes going on in my life, one of them being my forever growing interest in the Catholic faith.

Oh, and I’m not a fast reader!
Any insights would be greatly appreciated.

God Bless,
Graham

I know some people that start at the begining and read to the end and then start over again. Seems reasonable. I find that by reading the daily mass readings, it gives me a way to manage the amount of reading and so forth. I think God is fully aware we have responsibilites. Also, by doing it that way I get to see how the Old Testament relates to the New Testament and how the books of the New Testament relate to the Gospels. When I run across something that I don’t understand, I google using the word catholic first and then type in the passage or type in commentaries, explanations, etc. BTW, that’s how I found this forum. Anyway, I suggest you try different things. Maybe a Bible study at your church. Find something comfortable and go with it. God is patient. Afterall, he’s got all the time in the world. :thumbsup:

Peace be with you.

Recommended reading:
Jewish People in the Bible
Catechism, Article 3, Sacred Scriptures

I have a strong opinion about this, based on my own experience. Coming from an atheist background, I made several unsuccessful attempts to read the Bible over a period of several years before I finally managed to make any progress. I think the reason my first attempts were unsuccessful was because I tried to start at the beginning, i.e., Genesis. I realize people are different, but here’s my take: